Tony Hawk Featured

Anthony Frank "Tony" Hawk (born May 12, 1968), nicknamed "The Birdman" is an American professional skateboarder and actor. Hawk gained significant fame for completing the first 900, as well as his licensed video game titles distributed by Activision. He is widely considered one of the most successful and influential pioneers of modern vertical skateboarding.

Raised in San Diego, California, Hawk was described as being "hyperactive" as a child. His parents supported his skateboarding because it served as an outlet for his excessive energy, and as Hawk's skills developed, he became a professional skateboarder at age fourteen. In 1999, he became the first skater to land a 900. In 2002, he created the Boom Boom HuckJam, an extreme sports exhibition and tour which launched in Las Vegas. He turned pro by the age of 14and was the National Skateboard Association world champion for 12 consecutive years.


The 900

On July 27, 1999, Hawk was the first skater to land a 900. He successfully landed the trick, which involves completing two-and-a-half revolutions with the skateboard, on the eleventh attempt. After completing the trick, he commented, "This is the best day of my life."[4] Nearly 12 years later Hawk was still able to land his famous 900 and posted a video of the trick via his Twitter account stating "I'm 42 and I did a 900 today."

Boom Boom HuckJam

In 1998, Tony Hawk started freestyle motocross, skateboarding, and BMX with a show in Las Vegas and then on to 31 cities around the USA and eventually to Six Flags amusement parks.

Video Game Series

A video game series based on his skateboarding debuted in 1999. Since then, the series has spawned 16 titles, including main series titles, spin-offs, and repackages. The latest game of the series is the Tony Hawk: Ride, which involves riding on a skateboard-shaped controller.

Skate videos

1984: The Bones Brigade Video Show (Powell-Peralta)

1985: Future Primitive (Powell-Peralta)

1987: The Search for Animal Chin (Powell-Peralta)

1988: Public Domain (Powell-Peralta)

1989: Ban This (Powell-Peralta)

1992: Feasters (Birdhouse)

1992: Untitled (Birdhouse)

1993: Ravers (Birdhouse)

1998: The End (Birdhouse)

2001: One Step Beyond (Adio)

2007: The Beginning (Birdhouse)

More in this category: « Paul Rodriguez Nyjah Huston »